Daily Archives: August 18, 2013

Don’t Forget to Be Abnosome

This last week has been slow on spinning. Very slow, partially because of a couple of small hiccups in the art yarn department–specifically, that these hands have never made art yarn before and trying to jump into coils and beehives straight off is sort of insane. The hands are learning corespinning now. More on that when I run out of core. It’s going better than the other things, which I will photograph for full disclosure at some point in the not-too-distant future.

Of course, there is a larger reason. A very large reason, in fact. That is, the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen. I signed up on Team Fishwhales, and when registration was through, we were combined with a team of strangers calling themselves 2Glam2GiveADamn to become 2Glam2GiveADamnLovesFishwhales. To their credit, they were indeed quite glam, far too glam to be embarrassed by the kind of spectacular silliness that ensued over the last week.

Last Sunday the item list appeared–over 150 items of varying impossibility. Most of the impossible items were a problem of geography (I’m most upset about the item in which three team members go to the Dalí Museum in Spain with absurd moustaches, come on Spain, whatcha doing all the way over there???), which, if it could be solved by creative thinking, I would already have done. So we signed up for some things, we got excited, and we made stuff. And here’s the stuff I made, both materially and in profound metaphysical strangeness.

I lost a game of Settlers of Catan to Matt and Mr. Squooshy Penguin, narrowly beating Hubert, during a bloodparty.
I experienced some difficulty getting dressed when a flock of helium balloons made off with my pants.
I got a celebrity endorsement by Jeph Jacques for the SOMETAL Ukulele from Fishwhale Glamours, and became convinced that I’d invented the word “blood.”
I had a churro dagger-fight with my best friend–fortunately churros are fairly harmless, but the whole thing got a little bit Julius Caesar for a few seconds there.
I became the proud papa to a litter of wee kittens…and then cooed over the rest of the teensy kittybabies and most of the pupples at the SPCA for at least half an hour.


And THIS, well…this speaks for itself, doesn’t it?


Here, have some outtakes too.

I became a kale dragon–you may call me Kale Drogo.

 

I did a hug with bonus Star Trek joke. Oh, and all that face paint? I’m totally allergic.
I made and wore a uniform…and got photobombed by the Queen.

These are just my own contributions; there’s much, much more–but I’ll let my teammates tell their own stories (links if and when I have any).

As the sole member of the California division of 2Glam2GiveADamnLovesFishwhales, I could have pulled off none of this without the help and support of my BesFren (official title) and roommate, Matt. Nothing I could say could adequately express how thankful I am for so willing a partner in crime terminal weirdness.