Tour de Fleece Day 2

 

Whew! A busy second day. Here’s what I reported just before midnight :SONY DSC The spindle holds about 20 minutes of spinning from day 1, and close to an hour for day 2. Baby camel is such a pleasure to spin–easier than I expected and so soft. I’m still new to this supported spinning lark though, so the singles diameter is inconsistent, and thinner than I’d like. The bobbin on my Hitchhiker here showing about 2/3 of the first ply of my first full-sized skein for this year’s Tour.

After the pre-midnight photos…

SONY DSC

There was food. In case anyone was worried about my eating habits while I’m absorbed in spinning (hi mom!). Chesapeake tempeh cakes with fried red potatoes and lettuce from the last couple weeks of CSA boxes. Lately we’re getting more lettuce than I can reasonably eat, so I end up unceremoniously stuffing it into my face just before it goes off.

SONY DSC

Trillian was cuddled up on the back of the couch when I returned from taking pictures of my dinner.

SONY DSC

So, naturally, I snuggled the last pre-Tour skein up next to her.

SONY DSC

And she sniffed and snuggled it.

SONY DSC

And watched me watching her hold on to it.

SONY DSC

But she was SO sleepy, and she can never manage to be as excited about yarn as Twoflower is. I stopped taking pictures and put the yarn away. (I replaced it with tummy rubs, she loves the tummy rubs.) More on that later, when it’s washed.

SONY DSC

Then I finished up the bobbin. There it is with tomorrow’s work behind it. And Dog.

SONY DSC

Rather pleased with these singl–

–oh, I’m sorry, were you alarmed by Dog’s face?

SONY DSC

Yeah, well, me too. I’ll sew him up before I start spinning tomorrow.

SONY DSCMmmm look at that cloud of baby camel down. Try not to think about Dog.

 

Leave a Reply

